Match Remaking

Well we’ve all been there before when you get the one person in the group to either disconnect right at the beginning or even at the picking phase and never come back. I know some peoples’ game clients get crash reports right when they connect to a game. A lot of the time they can’t get back in the game fast enough to pick their hero so they random. On a side rant, I think S2 games should make something like a pause feature in the game lobby or give better insight on how to fix the crash reports. You can attempt to pause and see if he or she will come back OR just go straight for the remake. I figure if you were trying to remake, there are various outcomes that can occur.

Team asks “why?”

Now this always kind of confused me, for a number of reasons. One reason is how the hell do you know if they’re telling the truth? Making the question itself mundane. I personally can’t tell if someone is telling the truth over a video game. Another reason why it confuses me is the fact that what reason to remake a match is a good enough reason to remake one? I know there aren’t “standards” out there for reasons to remake a match, but also each player has their own different beliefs as to why a match should be remade.

The team declines

Now this outcome isn’t unusual when it comes to remaking a match. Some players might have remade the past 3 games, and they don’t want to waste any more time searching for a game. I think that reason is understandable, I wouldn’t want to waste any more of my time searching for a match when I could be doing other things.

The match is remade instantly

I’ve seen this case more often than not, I really think it has to deal with what everyone body else is doing. Once three or more people start voting thumbs up the rest will follow. I usually will either remake or wait a little bit to see what everybody else is doing. For the most part, I think it’s just easier to just get it over with and remake it, than having to listen to the other team complain.

If the scenario arises where someone on the opposing team is disconnected, I will NOT pass the vote if they instantly try to remake it without a pause or two first. I think it may save time (depending on the length of the pause) to just pause the game, and simply wait to see if the player will reconnect.

About Zach Mance

Hello, my name is Zach Mance. I'm the eldest of four, also 20 year old undergraduate studying computer science. I am currently pursuing my 2 year associates degree in the Chicago Area. My hobbies include longboarding, pc computer games, and wrenching on my car. I am very open to new activities and new people. I love to learn new things every day.
This entry was posted in HoN and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Go ahead...you know you want to chime in =)

